top of page

Writer's pictureHenrique Gomes

View from the Pulpit: Turning Fear into Faith

As the spotlight bathed my face Tuesday morning in Stuart Auditorium, I squinted into the sea of eager faces taking their seats. The brightness blurred the few familiar ones, but the energy was unmistakable. If someone had predicted I’d be speaking at a Camp Meeting in North Carolina a few years ago, I’d have laughed out loud.


Public speaking was my Achilles’ heel. Though I’m not shy, addressing a crowd felt like a Herculean task. Once, in New York, I was invited to teach Sabbath School. Two words into my introduction, panic hit, and I bolted to the bathroom. It’s definitely not desire or obligation that drives me to speak; it’s the conviction that God can use even my stammering voice if He wills. This calling is the backbone of my pastoral journey, compelling me to face my fears and speak, not for my sake, but to fulfill His purpose.


Stepping out of my comfort zone has become a sacred practice, a way to lean wholly on God’s promises. This is why the theme of this year’s camp meeting resonates deeply with me. Each time I’m on that stage, I pray fervently for the Holy Spirit to fill and use me mightily.


So, when the invitation came to speak this year, I said yes...with trepidation, trusting in God’s ability to work wonders through my weakness. Despite my preparations and rehearsals, my hands still sweat, my throat dries up, and butterflies dance in my stomach. Yet, as I begin, these fears dissolve, replaced by the focus on the message, not the messenger.


Finishing my sermon brings a rush of relief and peace, knowing I’ve done my part. Now, it’s the Holy Spirit’s turn to reach those who heard the message.


I challenge you to seek the filling of the Holy Spirit, to step out of your comfort zone and do something bold for Christ. Remember, the God who empowered imperfect prophets and disciples is ready to work through you in extraordinary ways. Trust Him, and watch the miracles unfold.


—HENRIQUE GOMES

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page